Tuesday, March 27, 2007

CGFNS FAQ for June 2006 passers

Here's an FAQ from CGFNS for June 2006 passers:

Does passage of the NCLEX or the CGFNS Exam make someone who passed only the June 2006 Exam eligible for a VisaScreen certificate?

No. In order to become eligible for a VisaScreen Certificate, CGFNS has required that a June 2006 passer must first re-take and pass, with a score of 75 percent or better, the “special voluntary examination” covering the subject matter of Tests 3 and 5. Passage of the NCLEX or the CGFNS Examination by any passer of the compromised June 2006 PRC examination will not substitute for the requirement that he or she take the “special voluntary examination” authorized by Executive Order 609 issued by the Philippine Government on March 12, 2007.


Does the CGFNS decision have an effect on the validity of the Philippine nursing licensure?

No. CGFNS recognizes the validity of the Philippine nursing license obtained by the June 2006 passers. The CGFNS decision to deny issuing a VisaScreen Certificate to the June 2006 passers of the Philippine Nursing Licensure Examination relates only to their status under U.S. immigration law.


When must I re-take Tests 3 and 5 to be eligible for a VisaScreen Certificate?

June, 2006 Philippine Nursing Licensure Examination test passers must re-take Tests 3 and 5 as provided in Executive Order 609 stating that a “special voluntary examination” for this purpose will be given both in June and December, 2007. A June 2006 passer may take this special voluntary examination in either one of those months, at the examinee’s choice. Executive Order 609 does not authorize re-takes of Tests 3 and 5 after December 2007.


What score do I have to get in order to be eligible for VisaScreen Certificate?

You must obtain a passing score of 75 percent or better on each Test. An average score of 75 -- in which one score is above 75 and one below 75 -- will not be sufficient to qualify for VisaScreen certification.


The American Nurses Association (ANA) has recommended that the June 2006 passers should re-take the entire licensure examination, even though CGFNS requires a re-take of only Tests 3 and 5. Which path should I follow?

To gain eligibility for VisaScreen certification, which is a pre-requisite to obtaining a U.S. occupational visa, you should meet the standard set by CGFNS, i.e., retaking Tests 3 and 5 before the end of 2007. ANA has clarified its position by stating that "ANA recognizes the CGFNS' position that successful retake of Tests #3 and #5 is an acceptable remedy to meet the needs of a VisaScreen Certificate."


If I take the re-take of Tests 3 and 5 in June 2007, and I fail to get a score of 75 in one or both tests, can I re-take one or both Tests in December 2007?

No. After you have re-taken Tests 3 and 5 once in a “special voluntary examination,” no further re-take is authorized by the Executive Order of the Philippine Government.


If I pass Tests 3 and 5 in 2007, what other things must I do to obtain a VisaScreen Certificate?

Detailed information about the requirements for a VisaScreen Certificate are available on this website at http://www.cgfns.org/files/pdf/req/vs-requirements.pdf


Who is ICHP?

The International Commission on Healthcare Professions is a division of CGFNS International. CGFNS launched ICHP in 1996 to administer its VisaScreen program, which is a federally-approved screening program for foreign healthcare workers seeking an occupational visa in the United States.


What is VisaScreen and why do I need it?

U.S. Immigration law now requires that healthcare professionals, other than physicians, complete a screening program in order to qualify for certain occupational visas. VisaScreen, a program offered by The International Commission on Healthcare Professions (ICHP), a division of CGFNS International, enables healthcare professionals to meet this requirement by verifying and evaluating their credentials to ensure that they meet the government's minimum eligibility standards. CGFNS is named in Federal law as a qualified provider of such a screening program.


What does VisaScreen look at?

VisaScreen includes an educational review, licensure review, English language skills assessment and passage of one of two approved examinations for registered nurses (CGFNS International Qualifying Exam or NCLEX-RN). Applicants who successfully complete VisaScreen will receive a VisaScreen Certificate, which can be presented to a consular officer or, in the case of adjustment of status, the Attorney General as part of a visa application


If I am a registered nurse, do I need to complete the CGFNS International Qualifying Exam and the NCLEX-RN® examination in order to complete my VisaScreen application?

No. You only need to successfully complete either one of the exams.

For more information about CGFNS, go to www.cgfns.org

AddThis Social Bookmark Button

No comments:

Sample NCLEX Training Videos


Yahoo! News Search Results for nurses